My Best’s Bridal Shower!

Another personal post : ) Look at me, over 3 posts in two days… this is getting close to an activity record for me!

I wanted to share a super special event I hosted this past month for my best friend for like reals real, Alyssa. I’ve know her since 14 and hers is the kind of friendship that has never dwindled, regardless of time or distance. I wanted to throw her the ideal bridal shower, full of all things girls like- sparkles, balloons, glitter, whimsy, and of course, ice cream. Hosted out of an old historic building turned ballet studio in Redding, California : )

How is this relevant to the blog? Its not since its not illustrated, but this adorable up up and away picture I snapped of the bride refusing to allow us to toss the giant balloons post-event is definitely draw-worthy! Keep an eye out for my rendition of this moment, once I have time to breath and draw independently away from commissions!

upupandaway!
 

The table setting, topped with giant 36" balloons!

The table setting, topped with giant 36″ balloons!


 

I kept seeing these to-die-for pastel tissue garlands flying around Pinterest, and trendy geometric pinatas! I tried my hand at DIY-ing them, along with some hand dyed & cut fabric streamers in a pastel peach, mint and blush palette

I kept seeing these to-die-for pastel tissue garlands flying around Pinterest, and trendy geometric pinatas! I tried my hand at DIY-ing them, along with some hand dyed & cut fabric streamers in a pastel peach, mint and blush palette


 

Closeup of the hand-dyed frothy pink and sherbet fabric backdrops I made that were strewn around the room!

Closeup of the frothy pink and sherbet fabric backdrops strewn around the room!


 

The refreshments bar!

The refreshments bar!


 

Champagne toast glasses waiting for their big moment!

Champagne toast glasses waiting for their big moment!


 

 I found that Korbel came out with a Brut Rose champagne that is a peachy tiny instead of the classic blush, which was a perfect tie-in to the party colors! I also did peach and blush colored florals with sage-ish colored mint succulents peeking out- I am so, so addicted to succulents at the moment!

I found that Korbel came out with a Brut Rose champagne that is a peachy tiny instead of the classic blush, which was a perfect tie-in to the party colors! I also did peach and blush colored florals with sage-ish colored mint succulents peeking out- I am so, so addicted to succulents at the moment!


 

With the dreamy pastels, a retro theme seemed to fit, so all the games were sort of 50's style! Here are the games cards I made featuring a fab 50s pinup illustration, quizzing the guests on their "Good Wife" knowledge, according to a 1955 publication in Good Housekeeping!  Another thing I am thinking about doing for the illustration shop- given I make the time : )

With the dreamy pastels, a retro theme seemed to fit, so all the games were sort of 50’s style! Here are the games cards I made featuring a fab 50s pinup illustration, quizzing the guests on their “Good Wife” knowledge, according to a 1955 publication in Good Housekeeping!
Another thing I am thinking about doing for the illustration shop- given I make the time : )


 

An array of custom-made retro cards I created for the event (note, not my illustrations of course, these are classic 50s pinup girls from some of the best of that era!)

An array of custom-made retro cards I created for the event (note, not my illustrations of course, these are classic 50s pinup girls from some of the best of that era!)


 

Rainbow sherbet champagne floats to finish of course!

Rainbow sherbet champagne floats to finish of course!


 

Overall, a beautiful day of ladies who lunch with a beautiful bride : )

Overall, a beautiful day of ladies who lunch with a beautiful bride : )


 

A romantic event in posted in time for review around love day ❤ Hope you all have exciting plans this weekend- I, will be painting with my main squeeze, Scarlett!
xx
C

Leave a Reply

