V-Day Recap: Success!

Im not a huge fan of the Valentine’s holiday as it has become to be celebrated- I dont really like to eat out, movies are expensive, the flowers are overpriced, and Im not even going near an entire box of chocolate. So, to be fiscally-minded this year, my husband and I made a pact to do absolutely nothing unless it was handmade, and preferably just cards no big gifts. A DIY-love day if you will : ) I upheld my end and he broke it of course, but to be fair the store-bought item was something he had already had stashed for several weeks (not to mention, its AMAZING so how could I be mad), & also he is a much better gift wizard than I!

On the blog theme of art and painting, he re-made and custom framed a painting of his that I fell in love with, because its a sort of loose portrait inspired by me playing my drum set! His works are always 1/1 and he never reproduces them, even on a smaller scale, so it was such a surprise! Picking out a hanging place for it in the house today:

My handmade gift from the hisband this year, a rendition of his original abstract expressionist work, Sunblast Angel!

My handmade gift from the hisband this year, a rendition of his original abstract expressionist work, Sunblast Angel!

The original massive-sized painting currently in the gallery!

The original massive-sized painting currently in the gallery!

My contribution to handmade was various hand-doodled valentines that I hid around the house! I also made him a sandwich, because lets face it you cant go wrong going all 50s style housewife and whip up dinner while he relaxes

sandwiches are an important building block of our marriage.

sandwiches are an important building block of our marriage.

one of my doodled valentines!

one of my doodled valentines!

I must say it was really fun to just chicken scratch some drawings! Im so used to referencing photos and focusing on a sort of semi-realizsm, that just doing some cute graphics with pretty colors was really liberating! After Scarlett is wrapped up in this next week and my following commission schedule is complete, Im thinking of working more on fast sketches and some cute things for cards and such in my shop : ) Something different, something new!

& so I wish you all a happy post-Valentine’s Day, and will leave you with this… the store-bought portion of my husband’s gift to me…

A HOODED, POCKETED, Pug fleece blanket. .... Im never taking this off

A HOODED, POCKETED, Pug fleece blanket.
…. Im never taking this off

Leave a Reply

